kmfkproducts.blogg.se

Never had an icq account but number is in my aol sign in
Never had an icq account but number is in my aol sign in




It was a huge big deal for a few years, and in my mind it occupies as big of a spot as Google when I think of the history of the web. Nothing urgent is likely to be on that account.Įven this anniversary email was mostly just an ad to try and get me to upgrade my service. But when I open the mail app it pulls the latest email, which is good enough for me. Yahoo hasn’t cut that off yet, though they won’t do push notifications. I read my email there on my iPad using the Apple mail app.

never had an icq account but number is in my aol sign in

I rarely, if ever, go to the actual Yahoo web site. Though, most of the email I get there now is from Yahoo, either trying to get me to read their daily news headlines… half of which are sponsored ads… or trying to get me to upgrade to Yahoo premium email, which they promise will remove all of the ads.īut the joke is on them. It is one of those things that I have had it for so long that I keep an eye on it because I never know who might pop out of the woodwork and drop me a note there.

never had an icq account but number is in my aol sign in

So today all that really remains is the email address, which I still use now and then. I stopped using Trillian because the services went away… or the people I knew on them stopped logging in… or, in the case of Yahoo, they withdrew third party API support in order to force people to use their own ad laden app. Cool idea, and I used that app regularly for about a decade.Īnd then, for various reason, instant messaging stopped being a thing… or a thing that could be monetized to support itself. Of course, not everybody was on the plan and I ended up using an app called Trillian that united all of your instant messenger services into a single interface. I know it was related to TorilMUD because my account was named for my main character there. So I guess back in June of 1998 I made a Yahoo account to get on that messenger service. And for TorilMUD, Yahoo messenger became a thing. I already had both of those… I had an AOL account way back in the day… but in order to keep track of all of your friends you had to be on the services they used. This was also the age of the “everybody needs an instant messenger” app as things like ICQ and AOL Instant Messenger started being a way to communicate.

never had an icq account but number is in my aol sign in

But at some point in 1998 I created a Yahoo account, and it was for a game.






Never had an icq account but number is in my aol sign in